killotopia.blogg.se

Basic macaroni salad recipe easy
Basic macaroni salad recipe easy







Basic macaroni salad recipe easy full#

DO NOT add the full amount of sugar called for unless you want a sickeningly SWEET mac salad! I think its nearly a better alternative to skip sugar all together & use some sweet relish. Macaroni salad should NOT have that amount of sugar!! I only made half the recipe- every other ingredient as called for. I think next time I make this, I might try adding hard boiled eggs, cubed cheese or diced ham.

basic macaroni salad recipe easy

This yummy, refreshing salad will definately be showing up this summer during cookouts and picnics. I left out the pimentos, simply because I forgot to buy them. The orange and green colors from the veggies make this a very pretty dish. As for presentation.I love the yellow color that is had from the mustard.and I'm glad I decided to add the shredded carrots. Also, the dressing/pasta ratio is perfect, just the right amount of moistness. I tasted a small helping immediately after mixing in the veggies and pasta, and it tasted really just had another helping after it has been refrigerated for about 3 hours and it is just yummy!! All the flavors really came together and it's not too sweet or too tangy. This is an excellent macaroni salad! Having only ever had macaroni salad with plain mayo as dressing.I was a little scared when I started putting the dressing ingredients together. But, for a fresh, classic macaroni salad, you won't go wrong with "as is" either! Same with adding cheese, or mini shrimp, or other veggies, there is no limit to personalizing this perfect start. As for the chopped egg, its one of those preference things but often a "must" for some so throw it in there. To somewhat counter the bite of the onion I chop it a bit fine to blend in better as I'm not a fan of chunky onion bites, but certainly using less is an easy fix. It also aids in the consistency of the dressing.

basic macaroni salad recipe easy

As for the sugar, I have found a little less is needed if you use white vinegar and mayo, but all is needed if using apple cider and miracle whip. I actually prefer adding a bit of dressing to give it a little fresh kick just before the serve.

basic macaroni salad recipe easy

some reviews have mentioned it too runny, too sweet, too much onion, or needing some chopped egg, I personally found the "runny" dressing to substancially thicken up overnight in the fridge, but if you are serving within an hour or two of making, I'd suggest tossing with partial dressing and saving the rest to add if necessary just prior to serving that way you control the wetness. Here are a few suggestions/hints I have found to be helpful. just a perfect, classic recipe everyone will love! I not only think its perfect as is, but is also the best base for getting crazy with your own preferences. nothing to pretty it up, nothing to add additional flavors, nothing to create a "change".







Basic macaroni salad recipe easy